Meursault - All Creatures Will Make Merry

All Creatures Will Make Merry



Digital download: iTunesAmazon mp3
High res album artwork

This is for the CD version, you can buy the remastered album on vinyl here.

The new Meursault album is being released on the 24th May 2010, but we will be making a limited run of hand-printed copies, which will be available from this site and at live shows from their album launch on the 10th April onwards.  If you pre-order from here, you’ll get one of those copies the week of the launch party.

This album is rather different from its predecessor, and I genuinely have no idea what Meursault’s growing army of fans are going to make of it.  It’s denser in many ways, dirty and noisy, and yet as sad and heartbreaking as you’d expect from the band.

When we were writing all the press blurb, Neil decided to describe the album as ‘epic lo-fi’ and even though that is an almost totally meaningless term, it still seems to describe All Creatures pretty well.  With two new band members joining, there was a danger that the cello or the electric guitar would end up swamping this record, but it’s all been handled very carefully.

I think the first time I heard this album through I pretty much summed up what I felt about it in a single sentence: there’s not so much as a weak twenty seconds on here, anywhere.

1. Payday
2. Crank Resolutions
3. All Creatures Will Make Merry
4. Weather
5. One Day This’ll All Be Fields
6. What You Don’t Have
7. Another
8. New Ruin
9. Sleet
10. Song for Martin Kippenberger
11. A Fair Exchange